News Karnataka

Pramod Madhwaraj confers Ratnashree awards on 10 achievers

Pramod Madhwaraj confers Ratnashree awards on 10 achievers

Sc R D   ¦    Oct 03, 2017 03:14:55 PM (IST)
Pramod Madhwaraj confers Ratnashree awards on 10 achievers

Udupi: Udupi District In-charge Minister Pramod Madhwaraj felicitated 10 achievers with the Rathnashree Awards for their contributions in the field of education, health and others on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti here at Basel Missionaries Memorial Auditorium, Mission Compound.

The event was organised by the International Federation of Karnataka Christian Associations (IFKCA), Udupi along with Big J Media Network, Udupi.

Addressing the gathering, Pramod Madhwaraj said that it was a moment of pride to felicitate the achievers.

“The role of Christian community in the field of education, health etc., is great and it is our responsibility to honour the great achievers in the society. The Christian community need not be afraid with regard to their safety since the government remains in favour of the community,” he said.

Most Rev. Dr. Gerald Isaac Lobo, Bishop of Udupi Diocese presided over the programme. In his presidential address, the Bishop said that the Christians constituted for around 1.8 percent of the nation’s population but their contribution to the field of education and health was more than 20 percent which had been much appreciated by the people of the country.

Violet Baretto, Kundapur (Politics); Joseph G M Rebello, Kallianpur (Social Service); Rev. Sr. Rose Agnes, Udupi/Mangaluru (Education); Dr. Susheel Jathanna, Udupi/Mangaluru (Health); Lancy Karkada, Udupi (Sports); John R D’Silva, Karkala (Entrepreneurship); Rev. Fr. Chetan Lobo Capuchin, Udupi (Media and Literature); Kum Sarala Lilliyan Soan, Udupi (Culture and Song); Master Laren Pinto, Palimar (Art) and Donath D’Almeida, Thottam, Malpe (Literature and Media) were the awardees.

Meanwhile, Christian Gospel Singing Talent Hunt hosted a Television Gospel Singing competition for the first time in India during the occasion.

Jayaprakash Sions, Chairman, UGM District Church Board and Trust Association Udupi and Kodagu district; Dr. Jery Vincent Dias, CREDAI President; Rev. Stevan Sarvotham, Udupi district Area Chairman (CSI); Rev. Fr. Lawrence David Crasta, Parish Priest of St. Anthony’s Orthodom Syrian Church, Kolalgiri; Denis D’Silva, State Convener of IFKCA; Prashanth Jathanna, President of IFKCA, Udupi district; Louis Lobo, Award Committee Convener; Dr. Nery Cornelio, Secretary of IFKCA, Udupi district and others were present on the dais.

Fr. Chetan Lobo, Dr. Susheel Jathanna and John R D’Silva spoke on the occasion on behalf of all the awardees.

Louis Lobo gave the key note address. Prashanth Jathanna welcomed the gathering and Jeethendra Furtado proposed a vote of thanks. Ashimitha compered the programme.