Mandya Congress leaders boycott RaGa's rally in Mysuru

News Karnataka

Mandya Congress leaders boycott RaGa's rally in Mysuru

Mandya Congress leaders boycott RaGa's rally in Mysuru

Bhavana S   ¦    Apr 14, 2019 09:31:44 AM (IST)

 Mandya Congress leaders boycott RaGa\'s rally in Mysuru-1

Mysuru: In a big setback for the ruling alliance JDS and Congress, the Congress Mandya district unit leaders didn't turn up for the All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Rahul Gandhi's rally in KR Nagar, held on Saturday evening. Even though KR Nagar is part of Mysuru district, the assembly constituency is part of the Mandya Lok Sabha constituency.

All the senior leaders of both the JDS and the Congress, including KR Nagar unit Congress leaders, were present in the rally, but three main leaders from Mandya district-N Cheluvanaraya Swamy, Narendra Swamy and Ramesh Bandisiddegowda didn't turn up for the rally. Three seats reserved for them in the rally were empty.

Till Saturday evening it was informed that all the differences of opinion between JDS and Congress leaders from Mandya were resolved.

But speaking at the rally all the leaders stressed the importance of joint efforts to defeat the communal BJP in Mysuru Lok Sabha constituency and BJP backed independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh in Mandya.

AICC president RaGa, former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, former CM Siddaramaiah, Mysuru district in-charge minister GT Devegowda spoke on the occasion and urged the JDS and Congress voters to sort out their difference and work for the victory of the alliance candidates.