News Karnataka

Annual convocation ceremony of UoM tomorrow

Annual convocation ceremony of UoM tomorrow

U K   ¦    Mar 11, 2018 03:45:24 PM (IST)

Annual convocation ceremony of UoM tomorrow-1 

Mysuru: The 98th annual convocation of University of Mysore (UoM) will be held at the Crawford Hall here on March 12 . Former state Lokayukta Justice N Santosh Hegde will be delivering the convocation address.

Addressing a press meet at Crawford Hall on Saturday In-Charge Vice Chancellor of UoM, C Basavaraju said, “A total of 27502 candidates, that includes UG, PG and Post Doctoral students will be conferred with different degrees on the occasion. Minister for Higher Education who is also the pro-chancellor of University of Mysore Basavaraj Rayareddi will preside over the function. The Governor of Karnataka who is also the Chancellor of UoM Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala will not be attending the convocation and the governor’s office has given the permission to conduct the convocation in the absence of Governor,”. Last year 24398 students got degrees

Women continue to outshine men: Out of the total 27,502 candidates who will be receiving various degrees, 62 percent i.e. 17,122 are women candidates. About 348 medals and 168 cash prizes have been shared by 207 candidates, altogether in all five faculties and among them 145 (70%) candidates are women. Apart from this 4213 women candidates (57%) will be conferred with Master’s degrees in a total of 7,576 candidates. In all 575 candidates will be receiving PhD degrees in various subjects. Among them 263 are women (46 percent) candidates and 312 are men (54 percent).

Medals and cash prizes:

In the under-graduate Faculty of arts Dhanalakshmi R has won nine medals and eight cash prizes. In UG commerce faculty, Mahathi Mohan and Pooja K Jain has bagged two medals each. In UG science and technology, Manasa D P has won seven medals and nine cash prizes.

In the post-graduate category, Vanaja K G has topped in arts with eight medals and four cash prizes. Mahadeva Prasad B R has topped in faculty of commerce with four gold medals. Shambhavi C N in PG faculty of science and technology has bagged thirteen medals and four cash prizes. Monjurlang Suchiang has bagged two medals and two cash prizes in Faculty of Law while Dovyashree has bagged five medals and one cash prize in Faculty of Education.

Honorary Doctorate:

The University of Mysore till now has not received any intimation from the governor’s office on the chosen name of the person who will be conferred with Honorary doctorate during the 98th convocation. An expert committee comprising three academicians has shortlisted three names and sent it to Governors office. The three have been shortlisted from the 12 names suggested by the UoM which includes cricketer Venkatesh Prasad, Chief Secretary of Karnataka Rathna Prabha, ISRO Chairman Kiran Kumar, environmentalist Saalu Marada Thimmakka, IPS officer N Nanjundaswamy, Anna Hazare, Poet Nissar Ahmed, Filmmaker T S Nagabharana. However the University of Mysore has not received any intimation from the governor’s office on who has been chosen for the honorary doctorate of UoM.

Governor's office has directed the UoM to hold an inquiry against former Incharge VC of UoM Dayananda Mane over the allegations of irregularities in the guest faculty appointment and the allegations of sexual harassment.