News Karnataka

Jain boards Cong candidates' bandwagon, Mithun Rai supporters walkout!

Jain boards Cong candidates' bandwagon, Mithun Rai supporters walkout!

Sc AL   ¦    Apr 17, 2018 04:01:34 PM (IST)

Jain boards Cong candidates\' bandwagon, Mithun Rai supporters walkout!-1

Mangaluru: The Congress party fielding incumbent MLA Abhayachandra Jain from Moodabidri constituency again has not gone too well for many aspirants in the party. Disappointed by the party decision, many Youth Congress leaders, backing their district President Mithun Rai, have decided to walk out of the party.

Jain, reluctant to contest from the seat initially, decided to part it for his well-wisher Mithun Rai, Dakshina Kannada Youth Congress (DKYC) President. After another prominent leader and MLC Ivan D'Souza threw his hat in the ring soon after Jain decided to back out, equations changed quickly as Jain was opposed to Ivan D'Souza’s candidature. Matters became worse, when former mayor Kavitha Sanil also showed inclination to contest from the same seat as it has been considered a "safe seat" for Congress over the years.

Watching the drama from sidelines, Jain forgot his own words and decided to contest again. The party's decision to field "reluctant Jain" has not gone too well with the supporters of Rai, banking on a party ticket for their leader.

Terming the decision to deny ticket to Mithun Rai unfair, many youth congress leaders and activists have submitted their resignations en masse to express their disappointment.

Addressing the media at a hotel on their behalf, DKYC General Secretary Kiran Guddegutlu said, " The youth wing supporting Rai has decided to stay neutral for now. Future course of action will depend on their leader as he remains inaccessible.”

Both Mithun Rai and Ivan D’Souza had done a lot of ground work to ensure their passage in the seat selection process. However, Ivan D’Souza has accepted the party decision.

BJP has fielded Umanath Kotian , who lost to Jain by a narrow margin in the last elections in 2013 whereas JDS is likely to field Ashwin Periera, considering sizeable Christian community vote.

Youth leaders Suhail Kandak, Melwyn Rego, Girish Alva, Mohammed tauseef,Abhinandan, Prakash Kulal, Prasad Malli and Varun Raj were among those present.

More Images
Jain boards Cong candidates' bandwagon, Mithun Rai supporters walkout!