News Karnataka

BS Yeddyurappa to be sworn in as new CM on May 17

BS Yeddyurappa to be sworn in as new CM on May 17

SC AN   ¦    May 16, 2018 09:45:08 PM (IST)

BS Yeddyurappa to be sworn in as new CM on May 17-1

Bengaluru: Amidst a lot of confusion following the announcement of the Karnataka State Assembly elections, the Governor of Karnataka Vajubhai Vala has reportedly invited the single largest party to form the new government by 9.30 am on May 17.

On May 15, the results of the Assembly elections showed a hung Assembly with the BJP, Congress and the JD(S) winning 104, 78 and 37 seats respectively. Even before the counting ended, the Congress approached the JD(S) to form an alliance, offering their unconditional support to the JD(S), even offering to name JD(S) state president HD Kumaraswamy as their Chief Ministerial candidate. They even wrote a letter to the Governor seeking an appointment with him to discuss the forming of te new government. The Governor has however, shown favour to the single largest part i.e., the BJP, as he reportedly invited the BJP state president and Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa to swear in tomorrow at 9.30 am.

The Governor has given the party 15 days to prove majority on the floor of the Assembly.

It is reported that the Governor took the decision after consultations with former Attorney General Mukul Rohtagi.

The state BJP (@BJP4Karnataka) confirmed the reports on their official Twitter handle saying: "The moment that crores of Kannadigas are awaiting is here. Sri @BSYBJP will take oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka tomorrow morning at 9.00 AM at Raj Bhavan. The movement to build our Suvarna Karnataka has started. #CMBSY".

The DCPs of the city have been asked stay alert and to have adequate precautionary measures in place as there are possibilities of the opposition trying to cause ruckus to stall the event.